Head title AVORS

Accreditation of Higher Education Institutions


The process of accreditation of higher education institutions in The Republic of Srpska began in 2012 in accordance with the legal solutions governing the field of higher education in the Republika Srpska and Bosnia and Herzegovina. Based on the prescribed legal provisions and criteria for quality assessment in the work of higher education institutions, the conditions for initial accreditation were met by 9 universities, of which 2 public and 7 private, as well as 11 colleges, of which 2 public and 9 private. From the mentioned higher education institutions with initial accreditation, all institutions joined the first cycle of accreditation in accordance with the prescribed legal conditions. Institutions that met the conditions and criteria were issued a Decision on accreditation for a period of 5 years. To date, most higher education institutions that have been accredited in the first cycle have gone through the process of the second cycle of accreditation.

Accreditation of higher education institutions and study programs is part of the overall activities related to the reform of higher education in accordance with the Bologna principles, and with the ultimate goal of recognizing higher education in The Republic of Srpska in the European Higher Education Area.

The subject of accreditation are higher education institutions and study programs they perform, including procedures for managing the higher education institution, processes of realization of study programs, internal quality system within the higher education institution, as well as capacities, resources and potentials, and capacities for higher education institution changes.